Every two years IBPSA-USA recognizes leaders in our field with awards presented at the SimBuild conference. 

  1. Distinguished Achievement Award. This award recognizes an individual who has a distinguished record of contributions to the field of building performance simulation, over a long period.
  2. Outstanding Practice Award. This award recognizes an individual, group or firm who has made significant contributions to the effective application and/or advancement of building simulation in practice.
  3. Emerging Contributor Award. This award recognizes an individual at the beginning of their career who has demonstrated potential for significant contributions to the field of building simulation.
  4. Outstanding Service Award. This award recognizes one or more individuals, groups or firms who have provided outstanding leadership in the promotion of building simulation through research, education or practice.

See detailed Awards Definitions here

AnchorIBPSA-USA Award Recipients:

2020 (at the 2020 Building Performance Analysis Simbuild Virtual Conference):

2018 (at SimBuild 2018 in Chicago, IL):

2016 (at Simbuild 2016, Salt Lake City):

2014 (at Simbuild2014, Atlanta​):

2012 (at Simbuild2012, Madison):

2010 (at SimBuild2010, NYC):

2008 (at SimBuild2008, Berkeley):

2006 (at SimBuild2006, Boston):

2004 (at SimBuild2004, Boulder):

  • Achievement: Fred Winkelmann, LBNL
  • Practitioner: Dan Nall, Flack + Kurtz

– See more at: http://www.ibpsa.us/past-ibpsa-usa-award-recipients#sthash.lJUomBe4.dpuf

AnchorIBPSA-USA Members who are IBPSA-World Fellows:

The following IBPSA-USA members have achieved membership grade of Fellow in IBPSA-World. These members have attained distinction in the field of building performance simulation (or in the allied arts or sciences), by either the teaching of major courses in said arts and sciences, or by way of research, simulation code development, original work, or the application of building simulation on projects of a significant scope. The individual must have been active in the field for at least ten years. 

For the full list of IBSPA-World fellows, please see http://www.ibpsa.org/?page_id=310.